Mailbox Monday — THE RETURN

Trying to get back into the swing of things, and not leave this blog so neglected. To that end, I present the RETURN of
MAILBOX MONDAY!!
This is, of course, a meme started and organized by Marcia over at The Printed Page (though she may have moved by now to her new digs at A Girl and Her Books, so check there too!). I don’t have a link to the exact post for this week, since I’m actually composing ahead and scheduling this post to hit Monday afternoon sometime, but I will have a link up sooner or later. But you should just check out her whole page, because it’s worth it!

I’m going to go back a bit, since a) I’ve only received one new book this week and b) I haven’t done this in a while. Anyway — on to the newest acquisitions!

The Gift by Bryan Litfin. First up is the book I got in the mail today, thanks to Crossway Publishers and the Librarything Early Reader program. I read the first book of the Chiveis Trilogy (The Sword) a while back (the review has been up for a while at Librarything, but I need to post it here as well.) The trilogy is set in the distant future, after mankind has completely messed everything up and essentially destroyed modern civilization in a nuclear war. Civilization has regressed to medieval times, and Christianity has been completely forgotten about. Until a copy of the Old Testament is found, and completely changes the lives of a small group of people forever. The Sword was a great read, and I’m looking forward to digging into The Gift, as the new believers search for a lost copy of the New Testament.

GIMP 2.6 For Photographers by Klaus Goelker I’ve already used this book in a class assignment for EDUC 631 — I had to create a five to ten minute video lesson teaching a technology skill, so I taught about cropping, rotating, and basic color correction using GIMP 2.6. I LOVE using GIMP (in fact, I’m running 2.8 right now), and want to learn more about using it. I can see this book getting a LOT of use in the not too distant future, and the review should be up this week. This one is courtesy of the Amazon Vine program, which I am loving more and more each week.

Commentaries on Genesis 1-3 This is a part of the Ancient Christian Texts series of commentaries, which is a sort of companion to the Ancient Christian Commentaries series that I own part of already. I strongly believe that it’s a bad idea to try to interpret Scripture without a grounding in how early Christians understood it; I don’t think their interpretation is always the only correct one, but I think we risk running into heresies by ignoring the testimony of the early Church. Plus, I am a total history nerd, and this gives me an excuse to incorporate my love of history into my passion for theology. This volume is especially interesting, since it includes work by one of my favorite early church historians, the Venerable Bede. I’m looking forward to digging into this one, though it may have to wait a few more weeks. This one also comes courtesy of Amazon Vine.

I’ve got a bunch more to review, but that’s all I’m going to include in this post. Thanks to all the publishers for sending me free books, and thanks to Librarything and Amazon Vine for putting together such awesome programs for reviewers.

Leave a Reply

