ANOTHER Book Giveaway!! In Cheap We Trust by Lauren Weber

0316030287.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_Another great giveaway, again courtesy of the fine folks at Hatchette Book Group. In Cheap We Trust: The Story of a Misunderstood American Virtue sounds like a great book, just judging from the title. Was cheapness and frugality ever really a virtue in America? If so, when did that stop? And why? That’s what I’m hoping to get out of this book. From the inside flap:

In hard times, questions about Americans’ conflicted relationship with consumption and frugality become more urgent and provocative. Why do we ridicule people who save money? Where’s the boundary between thrift and miserliness? Is thrift a virtue or a vice during a recession? And was it common sense or obsessive-compulsive disorder that made Weber’s father ration the family’s toilet paper?

This book is available from Amazon for about $16.50, but why buy it when you can WIN IT?! Now THAT is the ultimate in cheap, right? I’m giving away five copies of In Cheap We Trust. To enter, you need to do one or more of the following:
1. Leave me a comment below. The comment should tell me why I should pick you to get a copy of this book, or what you think you would get out of the book.
2. Follow me on Twitter. Send me a message (or a comment) letting me know that you’re following me, and you want a chance to win this book. PLEASE MAKE SURE you specify which book, because I’ll be starting a contest for another book pretty soon (as in, probably this evening).
3. Retweet me. Copy the following and paste it into Twitter:

#pewreviews #cheapwetrust Follow @warrenkelly to win In Cheap We Trust! RT for extra entries!

4. Digg me, StumbleUpon me, etc. If you have a blog, link to this post! Send me an email to let me know that you did it, and you’ve got an entry.

For all of these except #1 and #2, you get an entry every time you do it. For #1, you only get one entry for leaving a comment, and obviously you can only follow me once on Twitter. But for the others, you can get multiple entries. You get an entry every time you re-Tweet (and the hashtags are now working, so I will know!).

Remember, millions will enter (OK, hundreds) but only five will WIN! So what are you waiting for — get entering!!

{EDIT TO ADD} Just realized I didn’t put the end date in there. The last day to enter this contest is going to be September 11.

5 responses to “ANOTHER Book Giveaway!! In Cheap We Trust by Lauren Weber

  1. OMG there’s a book about my DH lol kidding no he is by far from cheap but he does not make any purchase & I MEAN ANYTHING without research some time’s its a good thing……
    Have a good one.

  2. I do try to be frugal without going to extremes. It would be fascinating to read about America’s love/hate relationship with consumption and frugality.

  3. Follow you on twitter (aitmama).

  4. I would love this book, because I am one of these frugal people who love to be frugal and it is not because im cheap!

Leave a Reply

