Mailbox Monday

MailBox

Once again, it’s Monday, and it’s time for that Mailbox Monday thing that I do. As always, thanks to Marcia at The Printed Page for hosting.

This week, I got boring books in the mail. Not ARCs, not “fun” books. I got textbooks. I’m 9 semester hours into my MAT (Masters of Arts in Teaching) degree through Liberty University’s Distance Learning Program, and after taking some time off, I’m back into it. I’m only taking two classes this semester, just enough to qualify for my student loan, but that will be plenty.

One of my classes is a methods class, so I don’t have textbooks for it — I just have to use textbooks for the grade level I’m teaching to do the assignments. But for my Foundations in Exceptionality class, I’ve got a few.
0205571042.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_Exceptional Learners is the basic text for the class. One thing I’m looking forward to is learning about working with gifted students. I really think that gifted students get lost in the shuffle far too often (and I’d say that even if I wasn’t a gifted student in school). Students with disabilities present a real challenge to teachers, though, and I understand why so much attention is paid to them – I’ve worked with learning disabled students before, and they each have their own set of challenges to overcome. There is also a case study book for this text that we will probably be using.

0205495451.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_Individualized Education Programs are the key to an effective special education program, and every teacher should be familiar with them. Gordon Gibb’s guide to writing IEPs is an invaluable reference for all teachers.

One response to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Hey…textbooks might be boring, but they do tend to make up for that in the usefulness category!

    Hope you get fun stuff this week!

Leave a Reply

