Mailbox Monday

MailBox

Big week this week, especially since I”m including the book I got today (since I’m on vacation next week and may or may not have Internet access to post).

0825439310.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_ Your Jesus Is Too Safe by Jared C. Wilson. If you ever read the old blog (which is still up, just laying a bit dormant right now while I try to figure out what to do with it), you know I like what Jared Wilson has to say. I once introduced a post linking to something he wrote by saying that if he wrote cereal boxes, I’d eat more breakfast. I was being facetious, of course, but every time I’ve read one of Jared’s posts at either The Thinklings or at his own blog The Gospel-Driven Church, I’ve learned something. So when I found out he was writing an entire book, I knew I had to have one. I’m hosting one leg of the blog tour for this book, in fact, so I can tell you with 100% certainty that the review for this book will be posted here on the 11th of August. It will also be at the old place and at the temporary new place, to give this one maximum coverage. I haven’t gotten really far into it yet, but I can already tell you that this is an awesome read – should be required reading for today’s Christian.

408c9bec797eb86597963315577434d414f4541The Devil’s Company by David Liss. The Whiskey Rebels was my introduction to Liss, and I really enjoyed it. I actually sent two or three requests for a review copy of this one through different sources, but finally got it through Blogcritics. I really enjoy Liss’ brand of historical fiction, and even though this is the third book of a series (and I haven’t read the first two), I’m looking forward to it.

0764206508.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_The second edition of Paul Copan’s philosophical/apologetic work True For You, But Not For Me. Judging from some reviews I’ve read, the book is misunderstood; Copan’s point seems to be that there is such a thing as propositional Truth, and that it’s rational to argue apologetically from that point of view. I’ll know more once I dig in, but I’m looking forward to this one. I haven’t read enough good theology lately, and between this book and Jared’s, I’ve got some good meat to dig into now.

b6d21848fc97468597755385641434d414f4541And today’s book, The Brutal Telling. This is book 6 in a series, and I wouldn’t have picked it at all if it hadn’t sounded so good.

“Chaos is coming, old son.” With those words the peace of Three Pines is shattered. When a stranger is found murdered in the village bistro and antiques store, Chief Inspector Gamache and his team are called in to strip back layers of lies — and catch a killer whose identity will shock them all …

I’m just hoping that the shock isn’t based on previous characterization or anything – this far into the series, it wouldn’t surprise me. We’ll see if this is a series you can jump right into or not.

And that’s the list. Thanks as always to Marcia over at The Printed Page for hosting the Mailbox meme – head over there to see what other book bloggers have found in their mailboxes this past week!

3 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. I was hoping to get A Brutal Telling too, but haven’t yet. Interesting books you’ve received, I look forward to your reviews!

  2. Warren, thanks so much for the early plug and the kind words. I really appreciate it. Grateful to have your help with the blog tour, friend.

    Blessings.

  3. Jared, the pleasure is all mine. Finished the book on the way home from the beach yesterday (yes, I read a theology book at the beach, a sure sign I am a total geek). Really enjoyed it.

    Kelly – have you read the other books in the series? It sounds awesome, though I may end up getting a few of the other books from the library to do some catch-up reading.

Leave a Reply

