Book Review: Adopted For Life by Russell D. Moore

Adopted For Life by Russell Moore

Adopted For Life by Russell Moore

Adoption is a subject near and dear to my heart. My sister and I were both adopted by loving parents who gave us every advantage possible, never treating us any differently because we were adopted. To this day, I have people ask me if I ever wanted to know who my “real parents” were. I tell them that my real parents are the people who raised me and took care of me for 18 years (and then put up with me for a few more just when they thought they’d gotten rid of me). I always felt that I fit in with my family, because of the way my parents treated adoption; they never kept anything from my sister and I, and I really don’t remember a time when I didn’t know I was adopted. So when I heard that Dr. Moore was writing a book on adoption, it immediately went on my must read list. When review copies were made available through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program, I made sure my name was on the list, and when the book arrived, it immediately went to the top of the reading stack.

Dr. Moore speaks on this subject from personal experience; throughout the book, he tells about how he and his wife adopted two orphans from Russia. This gives the book strength and credibility; after making an assertion, Moore is able to show how it was true in his own adoption experience. Examples from his own journey are helpful to the reader, and make the book that much more informative.

Moore covers the standard adoption information; financing, transracial adoptions, adopting ‘special needs’ children, etc. But the most fascinating part of the book, for me, were the first three chapters, where Dr. Moore lays out the theological basis for Christians to adopt. By using adoption of orphans as a picture of our own adoption into the family of God, Moore shows that there is much more to adoption than just getting a baby to raise. One of the strongest pictures of God’s love to mankind has always been, to my mind, the family. Our relationship with Christ is pictured in marriage, for example. But even more important is how we as believers come to be part of the family of God — through our own adoption. We are considered God’s children; Paul says that we are “Heirs of God, and joint heirs with Christ” (Romans 8:18). Elsewhere, Paul says that “in Christ Jesus you are all sons of God, through faith” (Galatians 3:26). Moore shows that in our adoption, we are all equal sons of God, all entitled to the inheritance that is our in Christ. If this is how God has adopted us, how can we then consider adopted children as something other than our own children? How can we think of adopted children differently than we think of “natural” or “biological” children?

Adopted For Life is a valuable book for any Christian, just for the new perspective it gives us on our standing in God’s family. It’s also an outstanding book for anyone considering adoption, for whatever reason. Dr. Moore’s own experience can serve as an encouragement for families who want to adopt, especially when they’re at the point in the process where it seems like it’s a lot of “hurry up and wait.” It’s also potentially a dangerous book, because once you read it you may be looking into adoption yourself.

Unlike most of the books I’ve reviewed recently, Adopted For Life isn’t a beach book. It’s not light reading, though Dr. Moore’s writing is certainly easy to read and understand. This book will make you think, and that’s always a plus in my book.

One response to “Book Review: Adopted For Life by Russell D. Moore

  1. (Nightowl from PCCB) – Thanks for sharing your review. I really want to make time to read this book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

