Mailbox Monday

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, where I tell you about the newest books to show up in my mailbox. It’s hosted by Marcia over at The Printed Page every week, so head over there to see MORE people who got free books in the mail last week.

This was a pretty good week for books, actually. I got three new books to add to the To Be Read stack (and actually finished one of them!).

An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage

An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage

An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage. This is the first book I’ve received through the Shelf Awareness newsletter, and I’m pretty psyched to have gotten it. Judging from the cover blurbs, it’s a social history of the world told through food. Standage considers food a powerful “catalyst of social change, political organization, geopolitical competition, industrial development, military conflict, and economic expansion.” (from the inside cover).

Adopted For Life by Russell Moore

Adopted For Life by Russell Moore

This is a book about adoption, obviously. If you’ve read my other blog (which I’m working on completely moving to WordPress), you know that adoption is a topic very close to my own heart. My sister and I are both adopted. So when I heard about Dr. Moore’s new book, I knew I’d be reading it. Then they offered it through the LibraryThing Early Reader program, and I managed to get a copy. I’m already well into this one, and it’s a worthwhile book for pretty much any Christian. Dr. Moore shows how adoption of orphans parallels our own adoption as children of God (which is something I’ve preached on before myself), and also shows how we show God’s love when we adopt children.

Magickeepers: The Eternal Hourglass by Erica Kirov

Magickeepers: The Eternal Hourglass by Erica Kirov

My third book last week was the first book in a new young adult fantasy series, Magickeepers: The Eternal Hourglass. AND I’ve already finished it, so the review will be up pretty soon. This is a fun book, and the series is promising.

And that’s it for last week. I’ve already got one book this week, but you’ll have to wait until next Monday to hear about it.

4 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. The YA book looks nice 🙂

  2. Magickeepers looks interesting, and I think I’ll share the adoption book with my sister-in-law, who is in the process of adopting a baby. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  3. Magickeepers is an awesome book; I’m looking forward to the whole series. I’ve gotten lucky lately with YA books — my daughter will get them in a year or so (she’s in second grade now).

    I think the adoption book would be a great gift for anyone who is adopting, if nothing else for encouragement.

  4. Thank you for stopping by the mailbox this week. Enjoy your books!

Leave a Reply

